Anton Kool Award History


Year Name Nominated by Notes (updated November 2018)
1987 Jan Herder CDMA Sydney (1) Founding President of the CDMA
1988 Theo Boelhouwer Dutch Folkdancing Group (1)
1989 Piet Smit Neerlandia (1)
1990 Willy Geytenbeek QWBF (1), Instuif, co-ordinator Federation, Social Welfare, Instuif Org
1991 Huub Vervoort DASI Wollongong (1) Dutch Welfare
1992 Ada Degenfeld Dutch Uniting Church (1)
1993 Bep Boersma Rembrandt Club (1), Instuif Group Club founding member, Social Welfare
1994 Frans Veringa CDMA Sydney (2) President and Kompas Editor
1995 Social Welfare Committee Illawarra Region Social Welfare Activities
1996 Corrie Lensink Neerlandia (2) Many committee roles
1996 Henk Schaaps DASI Wollongong (2)& Neerlandia Secretary and Committees
1997 Wim Engelbrecht Abel Tasman Village (1) Original Board Member
1998 Vina van Ede DASI Wollongong (3) Stuw Editor and Committees
1999 Joe and Dick Masaar Juliana Village Secretary, Board, Social Welfare
2000 Ploni van Es CDMA Sydney (3) Board, Years of Visitations
2000 Jan Mees Concordia, DACC Volunteer and Committees
2000 Richard Verhoeve DASI Wollongong (4) Board member
2001 Jan Joosten Rembrandt Club (2) President, organizer
2001 Wilhelmina van der Ven Dutch Uniting Church (2) Volunteer
2001 Pierre Hanssen Concordia Choir Director Musical Director
2002 Sjoerd Rasker ATV Volunteer, Rembrandt Club Hard Working Volunteer
2003 John M Pronk DASI Wollongong (5) Committee and Choir
2004 Irene Newton NSW Klaverjas Federation (1) Years of Service
2005 Bernie van Twist Juliana Village Library at Juliana Village
2006 Leo Boers CDMA Wollongong (1) Many Years ad CDMA President
2007 Bas van Dongen NSW Klaverjas Federation (2) Chairman and committees
2008 Louis Leermaker Abel Tasman Village (2) Board Member
2009 Gerard Visser CDMA Sydney (4) Many Years as Treasurer
2010 Wijbrand Bruinsma Dutch Folkdancing Group (2) Co-ordinator
2011 Kees Prins DASI Wollongong (6) Many Years as Secretary
2012 Jan Bareman Abel Tasman Village (3) Volunteer Financial Services
2013 Bert Gijzen QWDABF (2), ATV (4)
2014 Henny Spee Neerlandia (3), CDMA Sydney (5) CDMA & Neerlandia Secretary ,Editor
2015 Cor Merckx NSW Klaverjas Federation (3) 30 years of Service
2016 Jo-Ann Rasker Abel Tasman Village (4) 20 years as dedicated volunteer
2017 Joop de Wit Concordia Dutch Club 0ver 40 years of Service Secretary
2018 Sr Lia van Haren Dutch Australian Cultural Centre Archiving the DACC material received

The Federation of Netherlands Societies Chairman Report for 2018

We started the beginning of this year with a big bang, the celebration of our 50th anniversary was a great success. Thanks to the Rembrandt club who had organised this day with the right entertainment and a delicious lunch.

Thank you to Peter Hamer who at the last minute was able to organise and pick up the newly appointed consul general Mr. Frank van Beuningen so that he could meet and greet all the Dutch community leaders.

Mr van Beuningen has also agreed to become our patron as has been the custom for years.

The 2017 Anton Kool award went to Joop de Wit from the New Castle Concordia club for all his dedicated work for more than 30 years. As I was otherwise engaged on that day Thank You again to Peter, Marian, John and Paul Breedveld who travelled to New Castle to do the honours.

On a sad note, due to health reasons John Vlietstra had to resign this year from the board, thanks John for your valuable input through the years. The good news is that John Kusters will be representing the Wollongong area as a very capable replacement.

Another sad loss for the Federation is the Great Western Male Choir, Before known as the Rembrandt choir, they have for more than 30 years been involved with the Dutch community, I can still remember the very first concert of the Rembrandt choir in the Philips Building in North Sydney and the highlight of the choir when it performed the National anthems at the opening of the N.S.W. Festival in Fairfield on the occasion of the visit of Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands.

Our four social clubs, Neerlandia, DASI, Concordia and Rembrandt seem to be doing very well due to the hard work of their volunteers.

The other organisations such as, D.A.C.C. Social Welfare, C.D.M.A. Abel Tasman and Juliana villages, Genealogy group, St. Peters Play group and NESWA might not be so visible, but are all still working hard in the background for the Dutch community.

May I take this opportunity to thank all Board members and representatives of the various clubs for your valuable input, THANK YOU, as our first chairman once sad, it is not what the Federation can do for you it is what you can do for the Federation

Thank You

J. Joosten Chairman.